The Extremist Sufi Saying, ‘Allaah is a monk in a church …’ The Disbelief of Those Who believe in the Unity of Being [Wahdatul-Wujood] |3

by The Albaani Blog


And from that are two hadiths reported in Sahihs Bukhaari and Muslim. One of them is the hadith of Anas ibn Maalik, may Allaah the Most High be pleased with him, who said some people came to the Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم but did not find him.

They asked his family about his worship, about his standing for prayer at night and during the day, and his relationship with women [i.e., his wives].  So his family spoke about what they knew and said that he عليه السلام would fast and eat, stand to pray at night and [also] sleep, and would marry women.

Anas said that when they heard that they regarded it as being little, i.e., they thought that the Prophet’s worship was little, because they pictured: the Messenger of Allaah صلى الله ليه وسلم sleeps at night?  Surely, he must stay awake all night?!  Likewise, he breaks his fast? Surely, he must fast all the time?! And he marries women?

And some people say that, ‘Knowledge was lost between the thighs of women.’ [i.e., due to concern about their intimate relationships with their wives.]  How can the Prophet marry four, eight or more?

So they regarded his worship as being little–but then they turned to themselves and said, ‘This is the Messenger of Allaah. Allaah has forgiven him his past and future sins.’

The reality is that these statements emanate from people … who had newly embraced Islaam, because it is not possible that a person who understood his Prophet’s صلى الله عليه وسلم sublime perfection which has no comparison, to say, ‘Why does the Prophet marry? Why does he sleep? Why does he eat? Allaah has forgiven him his sins …’ It is not befitting that such statements be said, but it happened as such.

The important thing is that they turned to themselves and said, ‘This is the Messenger of Allaah, Allaah has forgiven him his past and future sins.  So we must toil and exhaust ourselves and worship Allaah until He forgives us.’

What was the way to achieve that, in their opinion?

One of them said, ‘As for me, I will fast and never break it.’  The other said, ‘As for me, I will stand in prayer and not sleep.’  And the third said, ‘I will never marry women.’

Then they left.

After some time the Prophet عليه السلام came and was told about them. So he صلى الله عليه وسلم gave a short sermon and said, ‘What is the matter with a people who say such and such? I fear Allaah more than you do, and I am the most obedient and dutiful among you to Him. As for me, then I fast and break the fast, I pray at night and sleep and I marry women. So whoever turns away from my Sunnah is not from me.’

Here is the point, ‘So whoever turns away from my Sunnah is not from me.’  So these righteous Sufis of old, I am not referring to Ash-Sha’raani’s group and his likes and [those who believe in] the Unity of Being. No. These people departed from the guidance of the Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم and so came with old Buddhist, Indian ways which they inherited, and maybe they were foreigners [non-Arabs] who entered Islaam and did not understand it properly.  Thus coming up with a way of punishing the soul under the assumption of purifying it.  And here is your Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم saying, ‘So whoever turns away from my Sunnah is not from me.’