The Shaikh’s Life in his Own Words … 10

by The Albaani Blog


The Succession of Calamites that Befell the Shaikh
While in Lebanon

“Despite the fact that during that [i.e., checking the book Bidaayatus-Sool] I suddenly received the disturbing news of the death of my older brother, Naaji Abu Ahmad during the Hajj season, I continued the book’s completion while asking Allaah to have mercy upon him, seeking patience through its completion.  For he died and he was the best of my brothers, the most sincere to me, the one who responded with the most vigour to my call, had the most concern for it and enthusiasm in calling to it, so may Allaah be greatly merciful to him and grant us, all of my brothers, his children, grand-children and in-laws patience during this calamity that has befallen them, and may He make us good followers to an excellent predecessor, and raise us all with him under the banner of the Leader of the children of Aadam, sallallaahu alaihi wa sallam, “But only one who comes to Allaah with a sound heart.” To Allaah we belong and to Him we shall return.  O Allaah!  Recompense me for this calamity and replace it with something better.  O Allaah!  Forgive Abu Ahmad and raise his ranks among those who are guided, make his offspring from the righteous, forgive us and him, O Lord of the Worlds, expand his grave for him and fill it with light!

[Our Shaikh said in his book Talkhees Ahkaam al-Janaa’iz p. 24, “My older brother Muhammad Naaji Abu Ahmad passed away during the Hajj season of last year (1401) upon a righteous action inshaa Allaah, at the Jamaraat while he was sitting with some of his friends who were also performing Hajj.  One of them later mentioned to me that someone sitting with him had offered him a cup of tea with his left hand, so he said to him, “My brother, give it to me with your right hand and do not oppose the Sunnah,” or words to that effect–and then he passed away straight after he said that.  May Allaah have mercy on him and gather us and him with, “… the prophets, the steadfast affirmers of truth, the martyrs and the righteous, and how excellent are these as companions!””]

His Escape from being Killed in Beirut

Trials, tribulation and murder for no reason still continued (i.e., in Lebanon) until my family and I were almost about to become another of its casualties through bullets that some snipers had fired at us from war-torn buildings on the 2nd of Safar 1399 [January 1979 ce].  My car was struck in three places and the hits were on the verge of being fatal but Allaah kept us safe such that we did not receive a single wound to our bodies whatsoever, and all praise is due to Allaah through whose blessings righteous actions are completed.

Migrating from Beirut to the Emirates

Allaah decreed for me that I travel from Beirut to Sharjah to one of our brothers there, and he took me in as a guest in his home, may Allaah reward him with good.”

Hayaatul-Allaamah al-Albaani, rahimahullaah, bi qalamihi, pp. 19-20.