“O Lord! This is Not What I had Hoped For!”

by The Albaani Blog


 

Mention of the Fact that Having Good Suspicion about the One Worshipped – the Lofty and Most High – Can Help in the Hereafter for the one for whom Allaah Intends Good

Al-Hasan ibn Sufyaan narrated to us, saying: Hudbah ibn Khalid Al-Qaisee narrated to us, saying: Hammad ibn Salamah narrated to us from Thaabit, from Anas ibn Maalik who said, “The Prophet, sallallaahu aalaihi wa sallam, said:

‘Two men will be taken out of the Fire.  Then they will be brought before Allaah.  Then they will be ordered [back] into the Fire.  So one of the two will look back and say, ‘O Lord!  This was not what I hoped for!’  He will say, ‘And what was your hope?’  He will say, ‘My hope was that when You took me out of the Fire You would not return me into it.’

So Allaah will have Mercy on him, and admit him into Paradise.'”

Authentic ∣ Reported in Saheeh Ibn Hibbaan, no. 631.